Special Olympics bowling is one of the fastest growing sports. When it was first included at the 1987 Special Olympics World Summer Games, bowling was dominated by American athletes and hosted only 33 competitors. At the 1999 World Games, bowling boasted 388 athletes from 33 countries. Special Olympics offers bowling in every US program and in over 20 countries around the globe.

Many athletes choose bowling because it is a sport people enjoy for leisure as well as competition. Although there are some modifications made for athletes with physical disabilities, most athletes compete under the same rules and circumstances as athletes on a professional tour. As in all Special Olympics sports, bowling teams are grouped in competition divisions according to the athletes' ability level, age and gender.

Special Olympics conducts an annual National Unified Sports® Bowling Championship in conjunction with the opening of the American Bowling Congress Tournament.

Bowling is in the winter sports schedule for Special Olympics Texas with statewide competition at the Winter Games in December. The following events are sanctioned by Special Olympics Texas and are to be offered at all local, area and chapter competitions. The actual events scheduled and conducted at local, area and chapter competitions will be determined by a minimum number of entries in each event. An athlete may enter one event. Doubles may be male, female or mixed. Teams may be male, female or mixed (four person teams).

Mixed Doubles
Unified team
Unified Doubles
Individual skills
Ramp Assisted
Ramp Unassisted

Related Sites
American Bowling Congress (rule book)
Federation Internationale des Quilleurs (rule book)